Lessons from the Certifiers


The New IAC Certification Credentials
by Natalie Tucker Miller, IAC-CC

Question: In the last President's Message, it was mentioned that there is another level of certification. My recordings did not pass the first time I submit for certification. Will this new level be retroactive, and how will I know if my sessions passed?

Answer: First, I'd like to publicly honor all the coaches who have taken the bold step of sitting for Step Two of the certification exam, regardless of your outcome. We recognize the commitment to coaching excellence it takes to get that far in the process. And as you know, it's a level that takes many hours of practice to complete.

There has never been a question that IAC-certified coaches possess a high level of mastery and this truth is reflected in the expanded nomenclature the IAC has just introduced. IAC-certified coaches are now referred to as what we've always known they were: Master Certified Coaches, or MCC (IAC).

The adoption of the IAC Coaching Masteries® provided the certifiers with expanded definitions of coaching behaviors, as well as measures that allow us to more clearly define different levels of coaching skill. In our internal review processes over the past few years, we've been able to identify those with a skilled level of coaching, even if they did not meet our master-level criteria.

Members, log in to learn more.

To join the IAC, click here.

Do you have a question that you’d like to ask the certifiers? Submit your questions here: http://certifiedcoachblog.typepad.com/blog/ask-the-certifiers.html.

Natalie Tucker Miller, IAC-CC, is the Lead Certifier and a certifying examiner at the IAC, as well as Past-President. Natalie is founder of Ageless-Sages.com Publishing (www.ageless-sages.com), and creator of the literary genre, Picture Books for Elders™.


Please send your questions on the IAC Coaching Masteries® and the certification process to certification@certifiedcoach.org.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from the Certifiers”

  1. What a great idea. As a former IAC certifying examiner, I can say with confidence that anyone who achieves (or has achieved) the new level of mastery (basically getting a score of 3 out of 5 on each Mastery) is a good coach and should be recognized as such. And those who get a score of 4 or better will be recognized with the higher designation. Sort of like “with honors”. I like it.

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top

IAC Login